10WkInDesignCourse-520.png

Starting this May (2009), Creativetechs is offering a free, 10-week, worldwide, InDesign course. To make this happen, we need at least 1,000 people signed up to participate, so help us spread the word!

Want to enroll? Sign-up here: InDesign CS4 Course Enrollment.

Jason Hoppe, our Adobe Certified Instructor, has designed a comprehensive course that covers InDesign CS4 in detail. If you’ve been meaning to improve your InDesign skills, now is the perfect opportunity:

Week 1, May 14 – Interface & New Document
Week 2, May 21 – Working with Type
Week 3, May 28 – Shapes, Smart Guides, Pathfinder
Week 4, June 4 – Color
Week 5, June 11 – Images and Links
Week 6, June 18 – Layers, Making PDFs, Printing
Week 7, June 25 – Style Sheets
Week 8, July 2 – Master Pages
Week 9, July 9 – Tables
Week 10, July 16 – Finishing Details.

And yes, you can pass this offer along to friends, or even post it on your blog. Help spread the word. As I mentioned, we need a minimum of 1,000 people enrolled to make this free class viable.

Read on for an extended Q&A, and to ask your own questions in the comments. Jason is currently working on the class materials. If you have a topic you’d like to see him cover, mention it in the comments below.

Q: What Time Do Classes Start?

A: That depends on where you live. People attend these workshops from all over the world. We start at 11AM Thursday mornings in Seattle. Here are the start times for time zones in the United States:

2PM – Eastern (New York, Boston, Philadelphia, Florida)
1PM – Central (Chicago, Minneapolis, Dallas)
12PM – Mountain (Denver, Phoenix)
11AM – Pacific (Seattle, Los Angeles)
10AM – Alaska
9AM – Hawaii

For international participants, follow this link to see how 11AM in Seattle translates to around time zones around the world: What time is 11AM in Seattle? Here are some example start times for different cities:

7PM – London, Dublin, Algiers, Lagos
8PM – Amsterdam, Paris, Oslo, Prague, Zagreb
9PM – Athens, Jerusalem, Cairo, Kyiv
10PM – Moscow, Dubai
11PM – Islamabad, Tashkent
1AM Friday – Bangkok, Hanoi, Jakarta
2AM Friday – Hong Kong, Beijing, Perth
3AM Friday – Tokyo, Seoul
4AM Friday – Melbourne, Sydney
5AM Friday – Vladivostok
6AM Friday – Auckland

Q: How Long Are Classes?

A: Each class is roughly 60 minutes long, with an additional 30-45 minutes for audience questions. The Q&A is typically pretty valuable, so plan to stick around.

Q: What If I Don’t Have InDesign CS4?

A: This class is taught with InDesign CS4 on the Macintosh. However most of the learning applies to earlier versions of InDesign, as well as PC users.

Q: How Many People Can Attend Each Webinar?

A: Our Webinar tool, GoToWebinar, has a limit of 1,000 attendees per class. Based on the popularity of our free Photoshop training, we expect to reach that limit on most classes.

Q: Can I Download Recorded Copies of Classes?

A: We record a high-resolution copy of each class, and we plan to make recorded copies available for a slight fee.

Q: Can I Record Copies of the Class Myself?

A: Sure. Once you’ve logged on as an attendee, you are free to record a class using any number of screen recording tools. While we don’t mind you recoding these classes for your own use, we do ask that you don’t post those recordings on the Internet, or share them with others.

Q: How Can This Be Free?

A: We are trying to make a big splash, and we love working with a large audience. Help us spread the word. If we continue to attract a full audience, we’ll be able to keep offering these types of free courses for InDesign, Illustrator, Fireworks, Dreamweaver, and other Adobe products.

Q: Can I Post an Invitation on my Blog?

A: Yes. Please help spread the word. We need as many people as possible enrolled to make this free class format viable for us. You can post a link to the following URL, which we will keep updated as details change:

https://creativetechs.com/freeindesigncourse

As a thank-you, we’ll be posting a regular list of the top blogs and websites where people found out about this unique free Photoshop class.

Let's get to work

Fill out our form and we'll contact you as soon as possible.